Skip to content

City of Cold Lake elects new council

Two incumbents returned for another term

COLD LAKE - The City of Cold  Lake released unofficial election results late this evening for the six councillor positions on city council. Only two of the three incumbents seeking re-election were successful in holding on to their council seats. 

The top six candidates in a field of 14 vying for council chairs are Bob Mattice, who earned the most votes with 1,725, followed by incumbent Chris Vining with 1,382, incumbent Vicky Lefebvre with 1,191, Adele Richardson with 1,039,  Ryan Bailey with 1,027 and Bill Parker with 1,017.

Mayor Craig Copeland was acclaimed for another term.

Of the 11,074 eligible voters in the city, only 25 per cent cast a vote for a total 2,780 votes.

Unsuccessful in their election bid were Ryan Lefebvre with 988 votes, incumbent Bob Buckle with 834 votes, Rhea McMillan with 813, Murray Gauthier with 800 votes, Hussein Elkadri with 760 votes,  Debra Pelechosky with 633, Larry Ashcroft with 600 votes and Sara Fewchuk with 558 votes, 

Official results, including results to the city’s plebiscite questions, the provincial senate nominations, and the provincial referenda, will be made available on Friday, October 22, 2021, according to information posted on the city's website.