Skip to content

St. Paul Regional High School wins zone badminton banner

High school athletes from across the region put forward strong performances on the badminton court, last week.

LAKELAND - Badminton players from across region gathered in Lloydminster on April 27 to take part in the Northeast Alberta Schools’ Athletic Association (NEASAA) championship tournament. 

Athletes from St. Paul, Elk Point, Bonnyville, Lac La Biche, and beyond had strong performances, bringing home gold, silver and bronze medals. 

Zone banners were also handed out, with St. Paul Regional High School claiming the 3A banner, Westwood from Fort McMurray taking the 2A zone banner, and St. Mary’s from Vegreville winning the 1A banner. 

The top players earned themselves a spot at provincials, which was scheduled for May 6 and 7 in Medicine Hat. 

The final medal standings for the 2022 north east zone badminton championship include:


Girls singles – first Halle Blocha (Notre Dame); second Ava Pinch (Cold Lake); third Holly Feland (Glendon) 

Boys singles – first Dhruv Lunagaria (Westwood); second Konnor Poitras (FG Miller); third Zackary Pryzbylski (JAWS) 

Girls doubles – first Jaden Millhouse and Jillian Stevenson (Dewberry); second Niti Patel and Aska Undhad (Westsood); third Brooke Paradis and Michah Beljica (St. Paul) 

Boys doubles – first Brennan Riopel and Grace Burton (St. Paul); second Brody Finnestad and Katt Masuba (JAWS); third Andres Troconis and Emma Carter (Holy Trinity) 


Girls singles – first Ally Sestoso (Holy Rosary); second Avery Kuraitis (JAWS); third Nimedha DeAlwis (McTavish) 

Boys singles – first Emmanual Duguay (Sacred Heart FM); second David Brown (Holy Rosary); third Andrew Brown (Holy Rosary) 

Girls doubles – first Madi Dunlop and Lexis Ouellette; second Victoria Voltner and Jorja Hagen (Glendon); third Racquel Strickland and Falynn Short (Lamont) 

Boys doubles – first Jimmy Grimes and Stephen Blanchard (JAWS); second Avery Hayward and Keithan Benuik (JAWS); third Wyle Harvie and Lynden Bender (Holy Rosary) 

Mixed double – first Nico Beaudoin and Rayna Jodoin (St .Paul); second Ben Hortaleza and Aloe Manalese (JAWS); third Aezeron Alvarez and Meira Beljica (St. Paul) 


Girls singles – first Alyssa Bernier (Ecole des Beaux Lacs); second Hannah Use (St. Paul); third Gabrielle Suating (Holy Trinity) 

Boys singles – first Harshil Shah (McTavish); second Joemar Aquino (JAWS); third Soummadip Sarkar (Westwod) 

Girls doubles – first Sarah Meyer and Katie Nashim (JAWS); second Brittney Cole and Jessie Kurek (St. Paul); third Marley Brown and Laramie Parr (Dewberry) 

Boys doubles – first Alex Johnson and Kyle Gomez (McTavish); Zak Mandrusiak and Pancho Klassen (Two Hills); Monty Dallaire and Porter Dallaire (St. Paul) 

Mixed doubles – first Colin Pasitney and Sydni Fedoruk (St. Paul); second Evan Hasiuk and Jordan De Boer (Two Hills); third Boston Crate and Jayden Scully (JR Robson). 

Janice Huser

About the Author: Janice Huser

Janice Huser has been with the St. Paul Journal since 2006. She is a graduate of the SAIT print media journalism program, is originally from St. Paul and has a passion for photography.
Read more