Skip to content

Mixed curling bonspiel winners named in Bonnyville

A mixed bonspiel took place at the Bonnyville curling rink, March 22-24.

BONNYVILLE - Another successful bonspiel took place a the Bonnyville curling rink March 22-24. The mixed bonspiel was one of the last events of the season for the Bonnyville Curling Club.

Winning the A Event were Rodney Ouellette, Christa Schulman, Brian Hayes, and Jennifer Humnry. Runners-up were Dawn Holmes, Garrett Southoff, Jeff Holmes, Nicole Johnson.

Winning the B Event were Denis Vallée, Marcelle Vallée, Guy Lapointe, and Violet Lapointe. Runners-up were Jaclynne Vallée, Danny Plouffe, Jeff Zalaski, Lindsay Iroume, and Réalle Vallée.

Winning the C Event were Bas Churko, Nicole Hanusz, Kirby Brosseau, and Christine Reynolds. Runners-up were Mark Bulbeck, Sara Hurtubise, Gayle Bulbeck, Adam Bulbeck.

Winning the D Event were Irven Courts, Pierrette Michaud, Gerry Croteau, and Sammi Smith. Runners-up were Darwin Zalaski, Kristine Darr, John Darr, and Jessica Zalaski.

During the mixed bonspiel, Team Holmes, the runners-up in the A event, achieved a very rare 8-ender, which was also documented with a photograph.

Up next, the club will host a beanbag tournament on April 20, which act as a fundraiser for the curling club. Registration is $120 per two-person team and is open to participants 14 years old and older.

Janice Huser

About the Author: Janice Huser

Janice Huser has been with the St. Paul Journal since 2006. She is a graduate of the SAIT print media journalism program, is originally from St. Paul and has a passion for photography.
Read more


push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks