Skip to content

New deputy mayor, new committees for Elk Point Town Council

ELK POINT – The Town of Elk Point held its 2023-24 Organizational Meeting on Oct. 23, with new Deputy Mayor Wanda Cochrane taking the oath of office, succeeding Tim Smereka in that position.
Elk Point’s new Deputy Mayor Wanda Cochrane was sworn in by CAO Ken Gwozdz on Oct. 23 for a one year term until Oct.28, 2024. / Vicki Brooker photo

ELK POINT – The Town of Elk Point held its 2023-24 Organizational Meeting on Oct. 23, with new Deputy Mayor Wanda Cochrane taking the oath of office, succeeding Tim Smereka in that position.

With the new Deputy Mayor sworn in, council agreed to continue to hold their regular meetings on the second and fourth Mondays of each month, beginning at 6:30 p.m., and to also have the same signing authority as in the previous year.

The council as a whole was appointed to five standing committees: Emergency Services Committee, Executive Committee, Health Care Professional Recruitment Committee, Public Safety/Environment Committee and Risk Management Committee.

Two new committees were added the list of legal bodies, boards and commissions for the coming year. The first is the Askiy Anisjy – Elk Point Investment Corporation (EPIC) and Green Building Incorporated (GBI), which received council’s approval, and will have Mayor Parrish Tung and Coun. Jason Boorse as the town’s representatives. The second, which also received approval, was the Doctor, Administration and Local Politician Committee, initiated by MLA Scott Cyr and Alberta Health Services, with Mayor Tung and CAO Gwozdz as the town’s representatives.

Appointments to the remaining list of legal bodies, boards and commissions were as follows: Alberta Care – Coun. Tim Smereka; Canada Day Committee – Deputy Mayor Cochrane; Cemetery Committee – Cochrane; Community Futures –Tung; Elk Point and District Chamber of Commerce – Smereka; Elk Point Golf and Country Club – Yaremkevich; Elk Point Municipal Library Board – Tung; Elk Point Regional Allied Arts Society – Cochrane; Elk Point /St. Paul Regional Water Services Committee –Tung, Yaremkevich, Cochrane; Elk Point Waste Transfer/Recycling Station and Landfill Committee - Smereka, Tung; Evergreen Regional Waste Management Committee – Smereka (Tung alternate); Family and Community Support Services – Cochrane; Fire Board Committee – Coun. Jason Boorse, Smereka; Intermunicipal Negotiating Committee – Smereka, Cochrane, Tung (as needed); Lakeland DMO – Boorse; MD of St. Paul Foundation – Tung, Yaremkevich; Municipal Airport Commission – Boorse, Smereka; Municipal Planning Commission – All council except Tung; Northeast Alberta Information HUB – Boorse; North East MuniCorr Ltd. – Yaremkevich (Boorse alternate); Northern Lights Library System Board – Cochrane (Tung alternate); Recreation and Cultural Bard – Yaremkevich; Regional Assessment Review Board – Yaremkevich; Regional Emergency Committee – Yaremkevich, Boorse; Regional Health and Safety Committee - Boorse; Regional Recreation Committee – Cochrane; Regional Subdivision and Development Appeal Board – Tung; Regional Tourism Initiative Committee – Boorse; STEP Economic Development Alliance – Smereka.

Council approved two updated bylaws, sealing with Council and Committee Procedures and Council and Appointed Members Remuneration, before appointing the town’s solicitors, auditors, subdivision and Development Appeal Board members, Assessment Review Board, Director of Emergency Management, assessor, engineers, financial institution and place of business were as per the Municipal Government Act requirements.

Council honorariums and travel expenses equal to those of the past year also received approval.

push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks